Pages: [1]   Go Down
Author Topic: [fixed] Browsers don't work.  (Read 13876 times)
brainst0rm
RegMem
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Posts: 19


WWW
« on: December 29, 2009, 11:25:35 AM »

Just installed Matriux. Pretty impressive. For some reason both the browsers do not open ANY webpage. I tried to ping it from konsole and it did work. I tried multiple websites.

I am using it on SUN VIRTUALBOX. I got aetheros network card inbuilt in my laptop. But I am pretty sure that it is connected to internet since its replying the pings.

Thanks.      
« Last Edit: January 03, 2010, 10:23:29 AM by Tiger-222 »Logged

SecWorm.net - Hardcore computing and ethical hacking.


Author Topic: [fixed] Browsers don't work.(Read 13876 times)
twister
Tester
RegMem
***

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Posts: 21


« Reply #1 on: December 29, 2009, 02:06:34 PM »

It's weird, because I also run Matriux on VirtualBox, but all browsers work fine. As well as the connection.
May be it doesn't really matter, but, do you run wired or wireless connection ?
Did you ping actually the websites you wanted to visit ?
Check out ifconfig if there's everything alright, and then also /var/log for some changes in logs, may be the were some errors logged. That might help diagnose the problem.
Also, you can check if browsers work, when booting from the Live CD actually, although I don't know how it can help, still it's something.  Wink
« Last Edit: December 29, 2009, 02:09:11 PM by twister »Logged


Author Topic: [fixed] Browsers don't work.(Read 13876 times)
brainst0rm
RegMem
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Posts: 19


WWW
« Reply #2 on: December 29, 2009, 02:35:10 PM »

I got wired connection. Which means, modem's eth0 is straight plugged in to my laptop.

What I have tried is changing NETWORK CONNECTION settings FROM VIRTUAL BOX window. Which did not really help. I am not sure what is going wrong because I CAN PING ALL SITES. But none of the browsers would work.   
Logged

SecWorm.net - Hardcore computing and ethical hacking.


Author Topic: [fixed] Browsers don't work.(Read 13876 times)
Tiger-222
Team Lead
RegMem
****

Karma: +4/-0
Offline Offline

Posts: 243



WWW
« Reply #3 on: December 29, 2009, 02:52:40 PM »

Is there a proxy?
Logged

" owt WEE-am in-WEH-nee-am owt FAH-kee-am "


Author Topic: [fixed] Browsers don't work.(Read 13876 times)
brainst0rm
RegMem
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Posts: 19


WWW
« Reply #4 on: December 29, 2009, 11:29:21 PM »

No proxies.   
Logged

SecWorm.net - Hardcore computing and ethical hacking.


Author Topic: [fixed] Browsers don't work.(Read 13876 times)
twister
Tester
RegMem
***

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Posts: 21


« Reply #5 on: December 30, 2009, 01:50:17 AM »

Ok, there might be something blocking the HTTP traffic.
It may sound a little crazy, but look what you can do - write a simple http client, just to check if you can connect to web server and make a request. You can use even the example described here ( There might also be some bash, perl or other scripts, whatever that can be run on matriux in the terminal ). If you get the contents, then it's the browser thing, if you won't be able to connect or receive a response, then we should look for something that blocks HTTP packets.

Logged


Author Topic: [fixed] Browsers don't work.(Read 13876 times)
brainst0rm
RegMem
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Posts: 19


WWW
« Reply #6 on: December 30, 2009, 02:12:14 AM »

You know what, I just realized that my backtrack aint working too. I am facing the same issue in backtrack's virtual machine. So that makes it clear that its nothing wrong with matriux. May be its dumb virtual box. Let me try in live cd!

DUH! Tongue
Logged

SecWorm.net - Hardcore computing and ethical hacking.


Author Topic: [fixed] Browsers don't work.(Read 13876 times)
Neo
Tester
RegMem
***

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Posts: 25



WWW
« Reply #7 on: December 30, 2009, 10:00:52 PM »

Firefox
------------

1. Make sure that you are not in offline mode.
      File -> Work Offline

2. Make sure that your Firefox network settings are configured to auto detect proxy settings.
      Edit -> Preferences -> Advanced -> Network -> Settings -> Auto detect proxy settings for this network

3. Try visiting this URL from your browser http://209.85.231.104 and tell us whats Firefox is saying. It will be great if you can provide us a screen shot.

VirtualBox
------------

1. Use PCnet-PCI II (AM79c970A) Adapter
      Settings -> Network -> Enable Network Adapter
                                         Adapter Type PCnet-PCI II (AM79c970A)

2. Make sure that you have installed all the device drivers during the installation of VirtualBox


« Last Edit: December 30, 2009, 10:18:53 PM by Neo »Logged


Author Topic: [fixed] Browsers don't work.(Read 13876 times)
L30
Team Lead
RegMem
****

Karma: +8/-0
Offline Offline

Posts: 283


WWW
« Reply #8 on: January 03, 2010, 05:32:25 AM »

Is there a addon or some script stopping it?
Logged



Author Topic: [fixed] Browsers don't work.(Read 13876 times)
brainst0rm
RegMem
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Posts: 19


WWW
« Reply #9 on: January 03, 2010, 09:40:43 AM »

Working fine now. I think there was some problem in virtual box. I have installed it and even live cd works fine. So issue fixed. Thread could be closed Smiley.
Logged

SecWorm.net - Hardcore computing and ethical hacking.


Author Topic: [fixed] Browsers don't work.(Read 13876 times)
OrdignOccakar
Guest
« Reply #10 on: November 09, 2010, 07:53:35 PM »

Thanks Keith.

The problem seems to be Ceedo related.  Because I plugged the external hard drive with Ceedo on it in another laptop - and same problem.  Browsers and My Documents doesnt open from Ceedo.  Everything else does.

Anyways, I did a system restore dated 5th May on my computer where Ceedo is usually plugged into.  And the problem is not solved.  Browsers dont open from within Ceedo even now.

Please tell me what else to do.

Thanks
_________________
http://www.ps2netdrivers.net/setup/netgear.wgt624v3/
Logged

Pages: [1]   Go Up
Print
Jump to: